[wp-hackers] Leaving no trace in plugins
otto at ottodestruct.com
Mon Jun 28 05:17:18 UTC 2010
If you use the uninstall.php file, then it's only run when the plugin
is actually uninstalled, not when it's deactivated.
On Sun, Jun 27, 2010 at 10:03 PM, Michael Pretty
<mpretty at voceconnect.com> wrote:
> I've seen a lot of discussions on the list mentioning to leave no trace when
> your plugin is deactivated by removing any options the plugin may have added
> to the options table. The problem with doing this is that users may
> deactivate a plugin for reasons other than removing it permanently; ie, they
> may be doing an upgrade and disable all plugins to prevent conflicts that
> may occur. When this is the case, removing all of the options your plugin
> may have saved will cause the user's preferences to be lost. Here are a
> couple of options I see for this:
> 1. Create a delete action hook for plugins to permanently remove options.
> The issue with this, obviously, is that the plugin wouldn't be running
> register it's delete action. There may be a solution to this.
> 2. The second suggestion would be to use the autoload field of the options
> table to create a third status that would designate that the option is no
> longer used. Options with this new status could even be cleaned out every
> so often.
> Michael Pretty
> wp-hackers mailing list
> wp-hackers at lists.automattic.com
More information about the wp-hackers